top of page

Final Project Inspiration

In high school I learned about fractals. Fractals are a mathematical pattern which is equal at every scale. I was taught this concept through Sierpinski's Triangle, which I now doodle in all of my notebooks because its fun and quite beautiful. Sierpinski's Triangle is made up of equilateral triangles. The Idea is that you can keep drawing triangles in the negative spaces and it can go on forever.

Since I have been diagnosed with my eye disease it has become a lot harder for me to draw the smallest triangles, I often miss a lot of the negative spaces. I thought about a lot of people much younger than me that had developed visual disabilities earlier in life. They would have never have been able to learn how to make Sierpinski's triangle. So I decided to make a physical version of it. Triangles at different scales will correspond to different heights (and also colours) so you can feel the pattern when the triangle is assembled. And just for added fun and multimodal learning you can assemble the triangle yourself like a puzzle.

I think this would be a great learning tool for all types of students and is fun and interactive , or at least as fun and interactive as math can be. Plus the added bonus of accessibility is something that is obviously very important to me.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page